top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah R-Reyes

An Introduction to Balancing Your Chakras

Chances are you have heard of the Chakras at least once before, and you've probably even seen an illustration of where they are located within the body. But you may still be wondering, what are they exactly?

In this introductory piece, I hope to give you a basic overview of the Chakras and what each of their purposes are.

Ultimately, the Chakras are an energy system that runs up the center of the body, beginning with the Root Chakra-- near the tail bone area-- and ending at the Crown Chakra-- at the very top of our heads. Although there are truly 12 Chakras, the most prominent are the following seven:

The Crown

The Third Eye

The Throat

The Heart

The Solar


The Sacral

The Root

The study of the 7 chakras originated in the East, in spiritual and medicinal traditions that consider these 7 areas the basis of our human existence. The Chakras represent our lives psychologically, physically, energetically, and spiritually.

When the Chakras are not functioning to their optimal level, or they are feeling "blocked," we develop ailments or stress in the physical locations within the body.

Chakra Meditation

By defining the stress you are feeling, or by the location of your physical ailment, you can determine which chakra is out of balance, and therefore, also define the primal and spiritual needs you may be deficient of.

Channel and meditate on those needs, while taking slow, deep breaths, picturing a glowing orb moving its way upward from the Root of your body towards your head, and picture its release during each loud exhale. As the orb moves through your body, it may take on the colors of the chakras as it passes through them-- this is an example of color therapy, which is a powerful tool in the Chakra Meditation practice.

To deepen your practice, also include an aromatherapy ritual, or crystal energy healing. Aroma and crystal therapy can be highly beneficial even when not in active meditation practice. By diffusing essential oils, or including them in your daily routines, and by placing crystals around your home and work space, you will be passively absorbing their healing properties.

It is important to understand each Chakra and what they represent to keep this energy flowing as freely as possible.

(Click on the image to download a printable card, FREE!)

The Root Chakra

This represents our foundation and our need to feel grounded. This Chakra is located at the base of the spine, in the tail bone area. It is also called 'Muladhara' in Sanskrit, and is generally represented by the colour red.

If your Root Chakra is out of balance, you can feel excessive negativity or greed, as if living in survival mode, while not feeling stable or grounded.

Myrrh, Vetiver and Black Pepper are recommended for The Root Chakra, for their grounding and comforting properties that can help you feel warm, secure, comforted, and nourished.

The Sacral Chakra

This represents our connection to others, our ability to trust, and to embrace new experiences. The Sacral Chakra is located in our lower abdomen, about two-three inches below the navel and inside the depths of our gut. It is also called 'Svadhishthana' in Sanskrit, and is generally orange in colour.

If this Chakra is imbalanced, you may feel ruled by your emotions, have an overindulgence in your fantasies, have a lack of sexual desire, or feel stuck in a particular mood.

Tangerine, Bergamot, and Grapefuit-- all citrus scents-- are invigorating and energizing, and are instant mood-lifters.

The Solar Plexus Chakra

This is our ability to feel confident and in control of our lives, and how we assert ourselves in the world. Also known as 'Manipura,' it is located in the upper abdomen area of the stomach, where your diaphragm rests.

If you are out of balance here, you may struggle with self-esteem issues, or perhaps are manipulative with others.

The warm, spicy scents of ginger, lemongrass and bergamot can raise your confidence, allowing you to deepen your trust in others.

The Heart Chakra

This represents what you think it would-- our ability to love. Located in the center of the chest, The Heart Chakra is green in colour, and is called 'Anahata'.

If The Heart is not balanced, you make have trouble relating to others, feel excess jealousy, or the need to withdraw from family or friends.

Lavender, Rose, and Clary Sage are already culturally associated with a mother's love and soothing, healing properties. They are richly feminine scents, and invoke warm feelings of the heart-- generating compassion, forgiveness, and gratitude.

The Throat Chakra

This Chakra is located in the base of the throat and is blue in colour, representing our ability to communicate.

'Vishuddha' in Sanskrit, an imbalance in this chakra can manifest itself as not listening well to others, having a fear of speaking, or even lying to yourself and others.

Rosemary, Peppermint, and various Citrus scents are great for opening your throat and encouraging healthy communication.

The Third Eye Chakra

Also known as our Ajna, or our Intuition, the Third Eye Chakra channels our ability to see the larger truth in the circumstances of our lives. Located between the eyes on the forehead, it is represented by the colours purple and indigo.

Diffuse Lavender or Jasmine to awaken the Third Eye Chakra.

An imbalance here can create a lack of clarity, impede our decision making skills, and a failure to see the bigger picture.

The Crown Chakra

This chakra is located at the top of-- or slightly above-- our heads. Its Sanskrit name is 'Sahasrara,' and it is represented as the colour white.

An imbalance can cause close-mindedness, lack of empathy, wisdom, or connection to the functioning world around you.

Frankincense and Sandalwood are traditionally spiritual aromas that connect you to your higher self. Surround yourself with these scents to tap into the best YOU you can be.

Sarah Byrne is a yoga instructor, dōTERRA Consultant, and mommy living in the U.K.

93 views0 comments
bottom of page